Water cooler moment

Hooray, Telly Addict No.5 is up on time! View it here and check out Telly Addicts Nos. 1-4 while you’re there.

And here is your actual Water Cooler Moment from this week’s TV: an actual water cooler in a rented office from the first half of the first episode of Channel 4’s newest reality TV format The Job Interview, bubbling away to itself. It is, as gently hinted at by its title, based around job interviews, which are filmed for our entertainment, and, one presumes, the participants’ narcissism.

JobIntwatercoooler

Channel 4 have built a wall around their new show by calling back the top brass off of Very British Problems, who sit and unravel anecdote by the yard in what I always assume are NOT their kitchens to camera, and getting them to say similarly pithy things about employment for My Worst Job. Is this Jimmy Carr’s kitchen? Or the kitchen of one of the show’s producers?

TAUKTV5MyWorstJobTAUKTV5Suitshair

There’s a new season of glossy US legal drama Suits on Dave, who are owned by the same people who own me, although I was already a fan, so happy to report back from Episode 1, which makes me wonder why I wandered away from Season 5. It’s still super-slick, glamorous, alpha and a little bit eugenic in its casting, but the beautiful people at Pearson Specter Litt are in trouble and that’s always a good place to start. I’m already a fan of First Dates, as you’ll known, and I approve of Celebrity First Dates on a purely anthropological level. Here are its charming waiting staff, craning their necks at someone who they partially recognise.

TAUKTV5CelebFDwaiters

And finally, this week’s What’s On The Coffee Table? It’s a promotional Masterchef apron, which I am fond of, even though it gets its own catchphrase wrong (“Cooking doesn’t get better than this”?!) I’ve noticed that the pastries always look like they are for giants, when in real life, they are normal pastry-sized. The lies that TV tells.

TAUKTV5Masterchefgrab

11 thoughts on “Water cooler moment

  1. Another Telly Addict is a good thing. Also, it looks like you are hitting top form after the adjustment to UKTV.

    Masterchef celeb is a bit of a horlicks this year. Maybe one of them will surprise everyone by looking like they know what they’re doing at some point.

    And as a minor celebrity yourself Andrew, do you fancy donning the apron? Andrew Collins reviews Celebrity Masterchef with….Andrew Collins. No cooking skills required.

    Cheers,
    Steve.

    Like

  2. Funnily enough, I met the Masterchef producers in Edinburgh last year when I did a Q&A after a screening of Masterchef: The Professionals with the mighty Monica Galetti, and, realising quite how much I loved the show, they intimated that I might make a potential contestant for the “Celeb” edition. (We all know how loose that term is.) When one of my ambitions suddenly felt like a reality, I became suddenly terrified! I’m genuinely not sure if I could survive it. (Also, it’s safer to stay on this side of the concept of “Celebrity”, I think.)

    As a viewer, and diehard fan, I’m holding out for a good set of finals. I’m glad the contestants who have gone, have gone.

    Like

    • There seems to be two kinds of contestents:

      1) Those who actually enjoy cooking and want to do as well as they can and have probably practiced a bit.

      And

      2) Those whose agent tells them to turn up at 10 am in West London to get on BBC primetime and hopefully be entertaining.

      If you’re the former, go for it! The genuine fans of the show always make best contestents.

      Like

    • How about celebrity Bake-off instead? Much less intense and, i imagine, enjoyable to participate in.

      I hadn’t seen the first episode of The Job Interview but was disappointed with last night’s second episode. It seemed very much a by-the-numbers reality quasi-documentary. The fly-on-the-wall style of the programmes you mention, as well as the Educating… series, works well for those subjects but perhaps they could have tried something different with this one.

      Did you watch the Exodus – coming to Europe documentaries on BBC2 last week, and what did you think if you did? With further programmes about refugee camps this Thusday and next, it seems that the Beeb are concentrating on this subject at the moment. That’s a good thing, but I wonder why they’re doing it now in particular (that is, this time of year rather than this long after it was all over the news last year as, understandably, many of the programmes take some time to make.

      Like

      • I didn’t catch Exodus. I recently saw the excellent feature-length documentary Fire At Sea about the same subject but filmed from a very different angle. I recommend it.

        Like

    • Only three episodes in, but still awestruck by the calibre of interviewees. I mean, it’s nearly everybody of note who ever entered a recording studio. I guess that’s because it had George Martin’s name in the title. I am a sucker for rock docs, but this goes into a lot more detail and isn’t afraid of being technical. I love it, and I suspect I will be sad when it ends!

      Like

Do leave a reply

